Prague Travel Guide


Trips - UNESCO World Heritage list in Czech Republic

The UNESCO World Heritage list, whose aim is to promote cultural monuments and natural areas of world significance in order to preserve them for future generations, currently includes 12 properties in the Czech Republic. At present, all of them are of cultural significance.

Properties inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List

# Archbishop's castle and gardens at Kroměříž (1998)
# Historic Centre of Český Krumlov (1992)
# Historic Centre of Prague (1992)
# Historic Centre of Telč (1992)
# Holašovice Historical Village Memorial Conversation Area (1998)
# Holy Trinity Column in Olomouc – baroque sculptural group (2000)
# Jewish Quarter and St Procopius' Basilica in Třebíč (2003)
# Historical Town Centre with the Church of St Barbara at Kutná Hora and the Cathedral of Our Lady at Sedlec (1995)
# Lednice-Valtice Cultural Landscape (1996)
# Litomyšl Chateau (1999)
# Pilgrimage Church of St John of Nepomuk at Zelená Hora near Ždár nad Sázavou (1994)
# Tugendhat Villa in Brno – functionalism (2001)

The year in the brackets indicates the date when the property has been successfully inscribed into the list of the World Heritage. Former Czechoslovakia joined the UNESCO convention in 1990 and first properties - including Prague - were approved only two years later.

More than ten further properties are waiting on the tentative list to inscription. These properties include for example Český ráj (Czech Paradise) Rock Cities, The Forstress of Terezín or the Karlštejn Castle.